All Aboard the Resolution Train

Now that I’m back to the real world after my Christmas trip, I wanted to make a short post about my New Year’s Resolutions. I like the philosophy behind Resolutions, but I know I typically make them too hard, too unattainable, too unspecific. I read a great post on StrongBrees about fitness-oriented New Year’s Resolutions, and she’s right–you can’t bite off more than you can chew or leave them unspecific.

When I worked at SSO, we had to develop performance review goals. The way you did this was through the S.M.A.R.T. acronym.

Also, I’m working from this worksheet for my New Year’s Resolution. I think this year, I’m going to only have one. I’m tired of failing on these, and I desperately need to do this. Honestly, this is one reason I’m doing the blog thing again. I need to feel that someone, somewhere is keeping me accountable (even if no one ever reads this blog, it feels like I am).

My New Year’s Resolution is to do yoga/mobility work for 30 minutes a week in 52 weeks in 2015. Let’s talk specifics.

1. Specific. What will the goal accomplish? How and why will it be accomplished?

Doing yoga for 52 weeks (with the option of adding more practice, but not doing less) will help in mental and physical health. It will relax and calm my anxiety-riddled brain and help with my constant tightness from lifting. It will be accomplished through classes, solo practice, and doing yoga tapes.

2. Measurable. How will you measure whether or not the goal has been reached (list at least two
indicators)?

Two indicators are mental and physical health. Mental health means I should be cleaner and happier in my brain. Physical health I should be more open and less tight. I will also write a weekly report documenting my progress to be posted here.

3. Achievable. Is it possible? Have others done it successfully? Do you have the necessary knowledge,
skills, abilities, and resources to accomplish the goal? 

I feel like I’m making the goal too easy, but I’m glad I am for once. If I get my one day of practice, then any extra will be bonus. I have Iyengar’s book, DVDs, yoga friends, the ability to sign up for classes at the University, and a new subscription to Yoga Journal magazine, my initial inspiration. I just googled 52 weeks of yoga, and got a lot of hits. It has apparently been done before!

4. Results-focused. What is the reason, purpose, or benefit of accomplishing the goal? What is the
result (not activities leading up to the result) of the goal?

I’d love to get better at some static strength moves, but those shouldn’t be the goal itself! It’s so tempting to say “I want to do a flag, I want to do a hand stand, I want to do a kettle bell pistol squat” but those don’t happen without a good foundation! The result of 52 weeks of yoga may be being able to do these things. I’m also aware it might not. I accept this!
5. Time-bound. What is the established completion date and does that completion date create a practical
sense of urgency?

Before January 1, 2016, I will have done yoga 52 times for thirty minutes. That seems very manageable. 26 hours. A little over one day of my life spent doing something good for me.

When you see this, you know I did my part for the week!

When you see this, you know I did my resolution for the week!

Happy New Year’s eve, y’all! I haven’t forgotten about my cool update posts, but I had to write this before next year!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Goals, Health, Project Enrichment, Yoga

Leave a Reply

