Work Bingo

eat moar…shoot, on the tip of my tongue… errr…

I work at the most glorious of fast food eateries–Chic-fil-A. While not as mentally dehabilitating as other fast food restaurants, it still is rather soul crushing.

I hate suggestive selling. I hate suggestive selling food I know is bad for people because it is “not an option” (direct quote from manager).

I hate suggestive selling to children, especially if I am asking to “upsize their combo.” I try to avoid it as much as I can, but sometimes it slips out before I can stop myself.

“Would you like to upsize your fries for just 20 cents extra?”

“Would you like to try one of our new hot chocolate chip cookies for a little over a dollar?”


H and I have discussed that they should make a Starbucks bingo card to make the shifts less monotonous. I think I’m going to do the same for Chic-fil-A. Criteria for work-bingo is that you have to include things that happen frequently, but not overkill. The free-space would be something that happens every day (probably “Customer buys an original Chic-fil-A sandwich”).

Bingo card spaces so far:

  • Customer reacts to a request to upsize with something along the lines of “sure, why not?!”
  • Customer orders either grilled nuggets or fruit for their child’s kids meal and a full calorie soda for the drink
  • Customer orders a chicken filet instead of a “real” menu item.
  • Customer orders a combo meal, then asks for a water cup, not a bottled water.
  • Customer asks to hear all the dipping sauces read to them even though it is printed on the menu.
  • Customer asks for a discontinued item or asks if we still have ____ (such as Chicken Tortilla Soup or Sweet Potato Fries).
  • Customer asks if an original Chic-fil-A sandwich is available in a kid’s meal option.
  • Customer asks for no whipped cream on their shake but still wants the cherry (which looks really stupid).
  • D asks me to clean under the sink because I’m apparently the only one who ever does that.
  • Customer stacks 2+ coupons to get a super discounted meal.
  • An OC student tries to pay with meal plan points, even though the semester is over.
  • Customer’s order is so expensive that I have to ask them to sign a credit card receipt.
  • R comes in and orders for his wife.
  • J comes in and orders a water cup, Chick-fil-A sandwich substituted with a coleslaw and a small diet coke.
  • Old people ask for the senior drink discount.
  • I have to ask for change because someone paid with something that I cannot give change back with five dollar bills.
  • We are late making food for a catering order (honestly, this should be the free space).
  • There is a stack of trays as high as the front counter cabinets.
  • Someone in workout clothes orders a Poweraide (like it’s part of the uniform).

Those are essentially the ones I’d include. I need to make a table of this before I go to work, stat.

Oh, and in regards to squat day, it was delicious. H keeps on trying to get me to squat the low-bar form, but it hurts my shoulders too much for me to do it comfortably without dropping it. He has a much larger back than I do so anything over 100 lbs (which is a little less than half my squat on our 3 week of 5/3/1) I can’t handle. Which is unfortunate, because it seems like my squats are easier to line up with that form.

I think I’m also ODing on cottage cheese. It seems like every time I eat it now it murders my stomach. I’m tired of having to take Tums after every time I eat. I probably need to get more greens in my diet in general.

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Health, Work, Workout

6 responses to “Work Bingo

  1. i love eating there. i was told that at most chik-fil-a, if a customer says “thank you,” the employees are supposed to say “my pleasure.” i guess that stems from the religious thoughts of the parent company? have you heard that? does it happen at your location?

    • Yup, I wish I could say its made up, but it is required in the training material. As in, they train us to be polite.

      I hear that all the time, every day. We also are trained to refer to “refreshing beverages” instead of refills as well as asking if people wish to “dine in or carry out” versus “for here or to-go?”

      • it’s an admirable way to run a business – i think. well, it seems that way from the outside. from the inside?

      • I find myself being inherently trained to be more respectful. My specific CFA has some weird employee welfare policies that aren’t standard for all CFAs, but it kind of puts this strange dichotomy between the whole practicing and preaching concept.

      • i see what you mean. well, at least you’re always off sundays. right?

      • Indeed, which is a huge definite perk. 😀 Although, currently, my other job as a work study would always guarantee weekends off too. But, hey, I get substantially more than minimum wage and I like my coworkers. I can’t really complain (too much at least).

Leave a Reply

