New Routine

I know why I’m so tired today.

Besides the obvious reason being going to bed at 3 A.M. and my body deciding that it’s a good idea to wake up at 7 A.M.

Besides the other reason that I thought it was a good idea to rearrange my bedroom after I decided I couldn’t sleep–for four hours.

I wanted a nap at 10:30. That usually tells how the rest of my day goes.

However, my day, or rather my week is going well because of our new routine we have started. H calls it “Murdertown.” Yesterday, routine consisted of 3 warm up sets of squats, then squats to failure. Then 5×10 of more squats. Repeat with bench. Then chin-ups, dips, and crunches.

Delicious Murdertown… Now days, what with my almost perpetual existential crisis, it really is the only thing that gets me out of my head. Lifting heavy and actually eating well are really the only things that can do it.

Also–for your amusement.

(They’re called “pull ups” for a reason, and I don’t think these yeyhoos are fulfilling the criteria implied by context clues. Crossfitters…sheesh.)

18 Comments

Filed under bro, Health, Workout

18 responses to “New Routine

  1. Wow. Murdertown sounds like a ridiculously tough workout! It almost reminds me of the high-volume workouts that Russian powerlifters used.

    And yeah, the kipping pullups are kinda weird. Crossfitters have their reason for doing them (to be able to move more total weight in a shorter period of time), but I think that’s mainly just valuable in a Crossfit competition. I limit my pullups to strict form.

    Anyway, I hope you’re able to get a good night of sleep! It always sucks to drag through the day.

    • Yeah, this is the heaviest most intense workout I’ve ever done! And it is only going to get harder whenever we add HIIT into the mix…

      (…something I’m actually not looking forward to. I’ve always felt like such a poor runner.)

      It always felt like the purpose of the kipping pull up is to just show off that people can move their bodies in a pull up type motion that fast. It smacks me of ingenuity, but I guess it gets people moving. Likewise, I keep my bodyweight exercises pretty textbook. Otherwise, how will you know if you’re getting good results or not?

      Thanks for that, I was able to catch a nap this afternoon, fortunately. Although my day at work was just not conducive to how tired I was. I feel much more rested now and I plan on turning in early tonight.

  2. Cool post. Keep up the good work and you will see results. Esp with what you are involving yourself in. Best of luck

    • Thanks! I started lifting on and off about a year ago, but I had a weird hiatus due to some emotional stuff. Now, I’m back at it, for good this time. It’s probably my favorite hobby.

      • I am glad you back at it again. It is an awesome stress reliever I think. What routines are you doing?

      • Well, I’m using principles from SS in our new routine right now, but we’re on a 5/3/1 model that we’ve kind of hacked.

        You?

      • That sounds like a good regime. I am currently on my second strict month of working out. It is High Intensity Training with tailpipe techniques. It gets me sweating and I have seen incredible results in the last month alone.

      • Oh man, we’re going to put HIIT into ours too. What do you do specifically for yours?

      • Look at the POST I put up for today titled Monday. The workouts are in groups and we super set those groups. So back to back to back with little to no rest until the super set is finished. We then rest 2-3 mins before starting the next exercise. It is HELL to do, but rewarding. We are getting our rears in gear and pushing our bodies more than ever before. If you don’t know what an exercise is just go to tutorials and click on the exercise. Let me know what you think!

      • Yeah, we used to do a 4 min rest time, but now we just crank them out and take a couple minutes in between exercises.

        Good blog bro, glad you guys are going about it the right way!

      • Thank ya thank ya. Yea I find that the little rest is where you really sweat. We are seeing awesome results with this routine. Keep your self motivated and work hard. ITS WORTH IT!!

  3. I did crossfit for a few years and it made a huge difference. I need to get back to it!

Leave a Reply

