Recipe of the Week: Smoothie Formulas

via Pinterest

As Steve Carrel playing Uncle Albert put it in the motive remake of Bewitched: “I just love to blend!” (Will Ferrel’s spit-take is quite amusing in that scene.)

Blending has just gotten so much easier since acquiring my own personal-size blender. Normally I steer clear of those “single serving” type appliances, however, this blender I bought from Walmart is a fifteen dollar investment in my happiness and livelihood.

My philosophy for smoothies are fundamentally simple. I use a dairy milk base for all my smoothies for the protein content, but soy, coconut, almond, and rice milk would all work as well.

As well as a liquid base, I pick a blendable fruit. Bananas are really great for this–although I haven’t had a banana in ages since I developed a slight allergic reaction earlier this year (apparently, bananas have pollen that one can develop an intolerance to. Who knew?) Strawberries, pineapple, mango, peaches and essentially soft fruits do extremely well for making your smoothie just nutritionally dense and creamy. I’ve sampled a smoothie made with an apple and it just tasted really strange, so I wouldn’t advise it.

Obviously, one can buy frozen fruit that can double as your ice to give your smoothie some creamy substance. This is highly ideal. I’m sure everyone by now has seen one ingredient ice-cream recipe that uses this principle.

I like my smoothies really thick, so this is usually when I add my protein powder (two scoops gives it the best texture) and/or nut butters. Of course, if you didn’t use a frozen fruit, you would also add ice. Ice can also be added even if you have frozen fruit, but it will make your liquid ratio higher.

Here’s the cumulation of all the principles outlined above into today’s brunch smoothie:

Choco-Peanut Butter Blitz Smoothie

Ingredients

  • Skim Milk
  • 2 tbsp. Maranatha Crunchy N0 Stir Peanut Butter
  • 2 scoops chocolate protein powder
  • Ice

Steps

  • I put milk first, then protein powder, then extra ingredients.
  • Blend. Shazam.

Despite the simplicity of that, you can get as complicated as you like! Despite the short ingredient list above, I didn’t even mention my other favorite ingredients such as: cinnamon, vanilla extract, pumpkin pie spice, cafe latte protein powder, Biscoff spread, Nutella, greek yogurt. Heck, I even saw a recipe on Pinterest that puts cottage cheese and chocolate in a smoothie. I’m going to try it sometime, and I’ll definitely record my thoughts about it.

Well, curses, I’m hungry now and there’s not a blender in sight.

3 Comments

Filed under Drinks, Health

3 responses to “Recipe of the Week: Smoothie Formulas

  1. That photo is so beautiful! You are an inspiring me to become a smoothie convert 🙂

  2. Cripes on a bike. One day I’ll write a comment without massive typos!

Leave a Reply

