Recipe of the Week: Avocado Eggs

As much as I like food blogs, I would like to ease your mind by conveying that this will not become one. My life just happens to contain a lot of food right now, due to bulking, and its kind of hard to ignore it all.

That being said, this is obviously a food post, as well as a project announcement. My goal: replicate one new recipe a week.

This Sunday, after realizing I have a bag full of avocados that become increasingly more mushy by the day (one accidentally popped even before I got home and there was already one rotten one in the batch) I decided to give a recipe I saw on Reddit a whirl. Whenever I made this, I didn’t anticipate that it would go on my blog, but honestly, where is a better place to put it?

Especially since I took a picture.

Unfortunately, as impressive as it looks to cook an egge in avocado ala “toad-in-the-hole” style, the taste of the dish overall was decidedly lackluster. It was lackluster even after I smothered it in approximately a liter of hot sauce. It wasn’t bad, but awfully boring.

Here’s the original, if you were curious. Perhaps you all can find a way to spice it up more. I tried it because I’m tired of the alternating days of eggs/bacon and cottage cheese. All of which are delicious, but since breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, I wanted to invest more time in treating myself to a great meal. Unfortunately, this wasn’t it.

What’s your favorite meal of the day? Any suggestions for breakfast food that just takes the cake?

-a.b.

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food

2 responses to “Recipe of the Week: Avocado Eggs

  1. I’ll have to try this sometime. Avocados and eggs are two of my favorite foods so I’m curious what they would taste like together!

Leave a Reply

